Boards and Awards

Boards – Current Membership (as of August 2019)

Community-Based Participation on NCI Advisory Boards

National Cancer Advisory Board (NCAB):

  • Peter Adamson, MD, Children’s Oncology Group (COG)
  • Deborah Watkins-Bruner, PhD, NRG Oncology
  • Electra Paskett, PhD, Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology

Clinical Trials & Translational Research Advisory Committee (CTAC):

  • Debra Barton, PhD, NRG Oncology
  • Walter Curran, MD, NRG Oncology
  • Anne-Marie Langevin, MD, Texas Pediatric Minority Underserved NCORP
  • Michael LeBlanc, PhD, SWOG Cancer Research Network
  • Augusto Ochoa, MD, Gulf South Minority Underserved NCORP

Community-Based Participation on the NCI Central Institutional Review Board (CIRB)

Cancer Prevention and Control Board

  • James Wade (Chair), MD, Heartland Cancer Research NCORP
  • Katherine Crew, MD, Columbia University Minority Underserved NCORP
  • James Marshall, PhD, ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group
  • Connie Szczepanek, RN, BSN, Cancer Research Consortium of West Michigan NCORP
  • Loren Tschetter, MD, Sanford NCORP of the North Central Plains
  • Debra Wujcik, PhD, Baptist Memorial Health Care/Mid South Minority Underserved NCORP

Adult Late Phase Emphasis Board

  • John Ellerton MD, (Vice Chair), Nevada Cancer Research Foundation NCORP
  • Joan Westendorp, RN, MSN, Cancer Research Consortium of West Michigan NCORP

Adult Early Phase Emphasis

  • Melanie Thomas, MD, Southeast Clinical Oncology Research Consortium NCORP

Pediatric Board

  • Daniel Indelicato, MD, Nemours NCORP


NCORP Harry Hynes Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Trials and Community Research

2019 - Philip Stella, MD, PI, Michigan Cancer Research Consortium NCORP
2018 - Anne-Marie R. Langevin, MD, PI, South Texas Pediatric Minority Underserved NCORP
2017 - Patrick J. Flynn, MD, PI, Metro-Minnesota NCORP
2016 - James D. Bearden, III, MD, PI, Southeast Clinical Oncology Research Consortium NCORP

Legacy Harry Hynes Awardees:

2013 - Steven Wolff, MD, MeHarry MB CCOP
2012 - John Roberts, MD, VCU MB CCOP
2011 - Phil Kuebler, MD, Columbus CCOP
2010 - Loren Tschetter, MD, Sioux Falls CCOP
2009 - Carl Kardinal, MD, Oschner and LSU MBCCOP (2 awards)
2007 - Jim Wade, MD, Central Illinois CCOP
2006 - James Atkins, MD, SCCC CCOP
2003 - Marc Conrad, MD, Gulf South MB CCOP
2002 - Shaker Dakhil, MD, Wichita CCOP

2019 NCORP Physician Awards, August 1, 2018 – April 30, 2019 (as of August 2019)

  • Platinum (> 40 Total Accruals) - 20 Physicians from 16 NCORPs
  • Gold (20 – 39 Total Accruals) - 18 Physicians from 13 NCORPs
  • Silver (10 – 19 Total Accruals) - 62 Physicians from 30 NCORPs

Highest Accruing Physicians, Treatment Trials (as of August 2019):

  • Adedayo Onitilo, MD, Wisconsin NCORP (65)
  • Scott E. Delacroix, Jr., MD, Gulf South MU NCORP (27)
  • Jessie R. Gills, MD, Gulf South MU NCORP (25)

Highest Accruing Physicians, Cancer Control Trials (as of August 2019):

  • Kendrith Rowland, MD, Carle Cancer Center NCORP (487)
  • Mignonne Morrell, MD, Gulf South MU NCORP (257)
  • Howard Zaren, MD, Georgia NCORP (229)
  • Amy Curtis, MD, SCOR (226)

2019 Outstanding NCORP Administrator Awards (as of August 2019):

  • Michele Lacy, RN, BSN, OCN, Metro-Minnesota Community Oncology Research Consortium NCORP
  • Eileen Mederos, RN, Gulf South Minority/Underserved Clinical Trials Network Minority Underserved NCORP